Booking a cruise from the UK? Here’s our handy mini-guide to cruise ports and hotels in Scotland and Northern Ireland

for-web-belfast-large_WP9X5341_BM2007_5th_April_2012
Belfast at night

Aberdeen

Aberdeen offers just a few no-fly cruises but you can head to the Scottish Islands, Ireland and as far south as the Scilly Isles from here. cruisescotland.com

Stay at: Hilton Treetops Hotel (hilton.com); Aberdeen Douglas Hotel (aberdeendouglas.com)

Belfast

Cruises from Northern Ireland’s capital range from a trip to Liverpool across the Irish Sea to much further afield, such as Scandinavia and the Atlantic Islands. belfast-harbour.co.uk

Stay at: Park Inn by Radisson (parkinn.co.uk/hotel-belfast); Ten Square Hotel (tensquare.co.uk); Malmaison Belfast (malmaison.com)

Dundee

Located in between Aberdeen and Edinburgh, north of the Firth of Tay, Dundee is easily accessible from St Andrews or Perth. You can do a round-trip from here exploring the Scottish Islands including the Isle of Lewis, Isle of Skye and Gigha Island. angusanddundee.co.uk

Stay at: Apex Quay Hotel & Spa

(apexhotels.co.uk)

Edinburgh (Leith)

Whether you are departing for Baltic, Norwegian, Icelandic or UK destinations, this is a handy port, situated next to the popular attraction The Royal Yacht Britannia. You can spend an evening in Scotland’s vibrant city before travelling just 10 minutes to the port. cruiseedinburgh.com

Stay at: Radisson Blue Hotel, Edinburgh (radissonblu.co.uk); Malmaison, Edinburgh (malmaison.com); The George Hotel (principal-hayley.com)

Edinburgh (Rosyth)

Travel beneath the world’s longest multi-span cantilever bridge, the Forth Bridge, when departing from Rosyth port – Edinburgh’s second cruise port north of the city. It’s a gateway to Norway, Russia, Spain and France. cruiseedinburgh.com

Greenock (Glasgow)

In the Firth of Clyde, this is a perfectly positioned 35-minute drive from Glasgow – the heart of Scotland’s rail and road network. Cruises range from short voyages to Liverpool via Dublin, to Scandinavian capitals. cruisescotland.com

Stay at: Port and Harbour Hotel (portharbourhotel.co.uk); The Spinnaker Hotel (spinnakerhotel.co.uk)

Invergordon

This small village in the beautiful highlands is home to a port that can dock several large liners simultaneously. Enjoy a spot of golf, sailing or walking before you set sail for the Scottish Islands. cruisescotland.com

Stay at: The Kincraig Castle Hotel (kincraig-castle-hotel.co.uk)

Inverness

A destination in itself, so leave plenty of time to explore the Old Town and Inverness Castle the day before you set sail and take a detour via Loch Ness en route. There is easy access from the A9 and cruises travel round the Highlands. cruisescotland.com

Stay at: Glenmoriston Townhouse House Hotel (glenmoristontownhouse.com)

Oban

The Seafood Capital of Scotland, Oban has panoramic views of mountains, lochs and surrounding islands. Accessible from the A816 from the south and the A85 from the north, Oban is remote, but well worth the visit. cruisescotland.com

Stay at: Oban Bay Hotel & Spa (crerarhotels.com)

Read Directory: Cruise Ports in England

Read the latest issue of Cruise International in shops now

small twitter icon       small pinterest icon       small google-plus icon       small facebook icon       small email icon       small rss-feeds icon